Modern Numerical Methods for Quantum Mechanics

Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, 20-22 March 2017

One of the major computational challenges of the age is the calculation of partial differential equations describing quantum systems and their dynamics. This is both because of their fundamental role in theoretical physics and in physical chemistry and because of the raft of recent important applications, not least to quantum control and the construction of quantum computers and quantum devices.

Dispersive equations of quantum mechanics, e.g. Schrödinger, Wigner, Klein-Gordon, Pauli and Dirac equations, possess many structural features that render their computation difficult: their solutions oscillate rapidly, they have important structural invariants (e.g., conservation of energy and of symplectic structure) and often display other features which are exceedingly difficult to model numerically, e.g. integrability, localised solutions, focussing, finite-time singularities... Moreover, often it is of interest to solve the equations in a large number of spatial dimensions. All this means that standard numerical methods are of very limited use. The last two decades have seen substantial revolution in our understanding of this issue, leading to the development of both new important kinds of methods (Hagedorn wavepackets, splitting and composition methods, symplectic methods) and new means of their analysis.

The purpose of the workshop is to bring together three groups: a small group of the leading international experts in quantum computations, a number of well-established and internationally recognised Polish experts in differential equations and, last but not least, a group of Polish research students. We expect to offer a number of places to Polish research students who will benefit most from this opportunity.

Major international participants:


Although we wish to keep the numbers relatively small, we are happy to consider additional participants. The conference fee of 80 Euros will be expected to cover the cost of lunches, conference dinner and coffee breaks. If you are interested in taking part, please contact Karolina Kropielnicka.

Young participants:
We are keen to encourage a small number of Polish early career researchers (no more than five years after their doctorate) to take part in the workshop. The participation will be free but we expect travel costs to be covered from other sources. If you wish to apply, please email your CV and brief explanation why you expect to benefit from the workshop to Karolina Kropielnicka.

The venue and practical information:

The workshop will be held at the Institute of Mathematics of Polish Academy of Sciences in the centre of Warsaw at ul. Śniadeckich 8. You can download some practical information as a PDF.

A small number of rooms have been reserved at the Academy of Sciences and they will be allocated on a first-come, first-serve basis. We will help participants with alternative arrangements in local hotels.

The programme and book of abstracts:
You can download the programme as a PDF, import it to your iCalendar or view/import it as a Google Calendar. The book of abstracts, which will be available at the workshop, can be also downloaded as PDF.


  1. Winfried Auzinger (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  2. Weizhu Bao (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  3. Paul Bergold (Technical University of Münich, Germany)
  4. Joackim Bernier (University of Rennes 1, France)
  5. Sergio Blanes (Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain)
  6. José A. Carrillo (Imperial College London, UK)
  7. Fernando Casas (Jaume I University, Castelló de la Plana, Spain )
  8. Elena Celledoni (Norwegian University for Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
  9. Erwan Faou (University of Rennes 1, France)
  10. Piotr Gwiazda (Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  11. Ernst Hairer (University of Geneva, Swizerland)
  12. Pawel Horodecki (Technical University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  13. Radim Hosek (Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic)
  14. Arieh Iserles (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  15. Othmar Koch (University of Vienna, Austria)
  16. Karolina Kropielnicka (Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  17. Marek Kuś (Center for Theoretical Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  18. Caroline Lasser (Technical University of Münich, Germany)
  19. Christian Lubich (Tübingen University, Germany)
  20. Jarosław Mederski (Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  21. Piotr Minakowski (Heidelberg University, Germany)
  22. Martin Mrovec (Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic)
  23. Narcin Napiórkowski (University of Warsaw, Poland)
  24. Janusz Przewocki ( University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  25. Hassan Safouhi (University of Alberta, Canada)
  26. Albasher Shareif (Pedagogical University of Krakow, Poland)
  27. Pranav Singh (University of Oxford, UK)
  28. Julita Stasińska (Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  29. Tomasz Szarek (University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  30. Robert Szczelina (Jagiellonian University, Poland)
  31. Mechthild Thalhammer, (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  32. Jan Tuziemski (Technical University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  33. Przemysław Wojtaszczyk (Interdisciplinary Centre for Mathematical and Computational Modelling, University of Warsaw, Poland)
  34. Piotr Zgliczyński (Jagiellonian University, Poland)
  35. Karol Życzkowski (Jagiellonian University, Poland)

Workshop Location:
Instytut Matematyczny Polskiej Akademii Nauk (IM PAN),
Śniadeckich 8,
00-656 Warszawa,

Hotel OSiR:
Osir Polna
Polna 7A,
00-625 Warszawa,

Directions from IM PAN:

Scientific Committee:
Piotr Gwiazda, Arieh Iserles, Karolina Kropielnicka, Pranav Singh

Local Organising Committee:
Piotr Gwiazda, Radim Hosek, Karolina Kropielnicka

This workshop is supported by