Modern Numerical Methods for Quantum Mechanics II

University of Gdańsk and Polish Academy of Sciences, 27–29 June 2018

One of the major computational challenges of the age is the calculation of partial differential equations describing quantum systems and their dynamics. This is both because of their fundamental role in theoretical physics and in physical chemistry and because of the raft of recent important applications, not least to quantum control and the construction of quantum computers and quantum devices.

Dispersive equations of quantum mechanics, e.g. Schrödinger, Wigner, Klein–Gordon, Pauli and Dirac equations, possess many structural features that render their computation difficult: their solutions oscillate rapidly, they have important structural invariants (e.g., conservation of energy and of symplectic structure) and often display other features which are exceedingly difficult to model numerically, e.g. integrability, localised solutions, focussing, finite-time singularities... Moreover, often it is of interest to solve the equations in a large number of spatial dimensions. All this means that standard numerical methods are of very limited use. The last two decades have seen substantial revolution in our understanding of this issue, leading to the development of both new important kinds of methods (Hagedorn wavepackets, splitting and composition methods, symplectic methods) and new means of their analysis.

The main objective of this event is to follow up on our previous workshop, held in March 2017 at the Institute of Mathematics of Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw. We hope to bring together internationally-leading experts quantum computationals, both mathematicians and practitioners, as well as a number of established Polish experts in differential equations and early-career researchers.We expect to offer a number of places to Polish research students who will benefit most from this opportunity.

Participants (so far):

  1.      Xavier Antoine (University of Nancy, France)
  2.     Antoni Augustynowicz (University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  3.     Winfried Auzinger (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  4.     Weizhu Bao (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  5.     Christophe Besse (University of Tolouse, France)
  6.     Sergio Blanes (Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain)
  7.     Yongyong Cai (Beijing Computational Science Research Center, Beijing, China)
  8.     Tucker Carrington (Queen's University, Ontario, Canada)
  9.     Fernando Casas (Jaume I University, Castelló de la Plana, Spain)
  10.     Elena Celledoni (Norwegian University for Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
  11.     Kurusch Ebrahimi-Fard (Norwegian University for Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
  12.     Agata Gołaszewska (Gdańsk University of Technology, Poland)
  13.     Piotr Gwiazda (Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences)
  14.     Harald Hofstätter ( University of Vienna, Austria)
  15.     Arieh Iserles (University of Cambridge UK)
  16.     Patryk Jasik (Gdańsk University of Technology, Poland)
  17.     Tobias Jawecki (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  18.     Shi Jin (University of Wisconsin Madison, USA)
  19.     Nikita Kopylov (Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain)
  20.     Jan Kozicki (Gdańsk University of Technology, Poland)
  21.     Karolina Kropielnicka (University of Gdańsk and Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  22.     Marek Krośnicki (University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  23.     Karolina Lademann (University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  24.     Caroline Lasser (Technical University of Münich, Germany)
  25.     Norbert Mauser (University of Vienna, Austria)
  26.     Gulcin M. Muslu (Istanbul Technical University, Turkey)
  27.     Alexander Ostermann (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  28.     Brynjulf Owren (Norwegian University for Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
  29.     Emilia Przybysz (University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  30.     Reinout Quispel (La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia)
  31.     Józef Sienkiewicz (Gdańsk University of Technology, Poland)
  32.     Pranav Singh (University of Oxford, UK)
  33.     Chunmei Su (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  34.     Tomasz Szarek (University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  35.     Agnieszka Świerczewska-Gwiazda (University of Warsaw, Poland) 
  36.     Qinglin Tang (Sichuan University, China)
  37.     Mechthild Thalhammer (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  38.     Marta Wojtczak (University of Gdańsk, Poland)
  39.     Graham Worth (University College London, UK)
  40.     Zhennan Zhou (Peking University, China)

The venue and practical information:
The workshop will be held at the Institute of Mathematics of University of Gdańsk in the centre of Gdańsk at ul. Wita Stwosza, 57, in assembly hall 2. Practical information and available in printable pdf format: Practical information

The programme and book of abstracts:
You can download the programme as a PDF. The book of abstracts, also as a PDF.

Although we wish to keep the numbers relatively small, we are happy to consider additional participants. The conference fee of 250 Euros will be expected to cover the cost of accommodation, lunches, conference dinner and coffee breaks. If you are interested in taking part, please contact Karolina Kropielnicka.

The payment of the conference fee should be made by transfer to the following bank account

bank account:    PL 59 1240 1271 1111 0010 4368 2415

swift code:    PKO PPL PW

address of the bank:    Bank Pekao S.A,  ul. Kołobrzeska 43, 80-391 Gdańsk

owner of the account:    Uniwersytet Gdański, ul. Bażyńskiego 8, 80-309 Gdańsk

reason for transfer:    K-525-18 + name of the participant + MNMiQM II

Please do not forget to fill in the reason for the transfer. Number 'K-525-18' and 'name of the participant' is crucial.

DO NOT MAKE ANY PAYMENTS if you do not have the confirmation of participation.

Young participants:
We are keen to encourage a small number of Polish early career researchers (no more than five years after their doctorate) to take part in the workshop. The participation will be free but we expect travel costs to be covered from other sources. If you wish to apply, please email your CV and brief explanation why you expect to benefit from the workshop to Karolina Kropielnicka.

Scientific Committee:
Weizhu Bao, Arieh Iserles, Karolina Kropielnicka, Pranav Singh

This workshop is supported by

PAN Faculty BC